Callaway Big Bertha Diablo Draw 3 Wood – The Review


As a high handicap hacker, I never dabbled with the 3 wood. But as my game steadily improves and the will for extra distance off the fairway increases, I decided to take the plunge and give the latest sticks a hit.

A visit to the local golf shop and a great deal of launch monitor testing later, I’d plumped for the Callaway Big Bertha Diablo Draw (bit of a mouthful I know) with a regular stock graphite shaft and 15 degrees of loft.

Now, I’d done a great deal of research for reviews of my chosen clubs, and was hard pressed by Mr Phil Mickelson himself to buy the Diablo. ‘Lefty’ ‘amazed’ me with his stories on how the club was the ‘best club he’d ever hit.’ I wonder how much he got paid to say that…

Testing clubs on the launch monitor is never ideal, so I was unsure of the true performance of the club when hitting the range for the first time. Fortunately, after a few warm up topped shots, I found the Diablo to be extremely forgiving from both tee and fairway, with shots becoming airborne with ease. One problem of some 3 woods, with today’s golf ball technology, is that getting the ball in the air can be problematic (something to do with low spin rates). This was a problem that proved insignificant in terms of the Diablo’s performance.

As many of us will know, the proof in the pudding is in the club’s performance out on the course rather than the range. I used the Diablo mainly off of the fairway, and found it very forgiving, long and accurate on a consistent basis, allowing me to hit the ball to the front edge of the green in two on a par 5 I’ve never reached in two. An impressive start. The club, as promised, also helped to straighten out a sliced shot, with my shots flying on a high trajectory with a slight draw. It’s important to note that the club also comes in a non-draw version for the straighter hitters amongst us. With a little more practice, performance out of the rough and tee should become more consistent,  although the large head size does not necessarily lend itself to assured performance out of the thick stuff.

One of the only downsides to the club was the head cover, which appeared to be of a low quality; disappointing considering the high build quality of the club itself. The large, queer head shape may also deter the purists amongst us, however as a square head fan, I found it easy to get used to.

The Callaway Big Bertha Diablo Draw, although in its early stages of testing (the honeymoon period) has performed admirably thus far, and will ideally suit the mid to high handicapper looking for extra forgiveness, long distance and slice-busting. The club is available in a variety of lofts and in both draw and neutral versions, for around £140.

Ratings (1 to 5 scale; 1 being low and 5 being perfect)

Tee – 4

Fairway – 5

Rough – 3

Forgiveness – 5

Value for money – 4

One response to this post.

  1. This was an absolutely fascinating read. When I’m looking for new golf sticks (are they called racquets?) I’ll remember your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

